Meet the Assessor

dome and flag.webp

Jessica Adcock Goodman

Hours:

Monday through Friday

8:00 am to 4:30 pm

Location:

Saline County Courthouse

19 E. Arrow Street

Room 203

Marshall, MO 65340

Personal Property Office:

(660) 886-3111

Real Estate Office:

(660) 886-4380

Fax:

(660) 886-2482

Email:

assessor@salinecountymo.org

A county-wide elected office with a four year term, the Assessor's position is held by Jessica Adcock Goodman

 

Property Assessment in Missouri is required by the Missouri Constitution and the MO State Statutes (revised).  Property assessment is required in all of Missouri's 114 counties and additionally the City of St. Louis. There are different classifications of counties in Missouri, and different rules can apply in different class counties; however, the basics of the property assessment system are the same in all locales.



Generally speaking, the role of the county assessor is to keep track and value all of the real estate and tangible personal property in their county. Property valuations are based on market value per the Missouri Constitution and the system of annual assessment on personal property and every two years assessment (a.k.a. reassessment) on real estate is per Missouri Statutes.



The assessment system is under the oversight of the Missouri State Tax Commission (STC) to ensure that all counties are uniform and equitable across the state and that statutory compliance is upheld.



To view more Missouri State Assessor Information, click HERE.

Important Dates:

January 1:  

Personal property assessment list mailed out. 



March 1:  

Personal property assessment lists due to assessor's office; note statutory penalties if lists are returned late. 

June 15:  

Last day for assessor to send impact notices (increases in assessed valuation notices) to taxpayers.



3rd Monday in July:  

Appeals to the Board of Equalization are due. Board of Equalization meets to hear valuation appeals by taxpayers.



August/September:  

Appeals from the Board of Equalization may be made to the State Tax Commission. They must be made by Sept 30 or 30 days after the Board's decision, whichever is later.  An appeal must be made to the Board, with an adverse ruling, before the State Tax Commission may hear the appeal.  



September 1:  

Tax rates must be set and certified to the county clerk by Sept 1 for all political subdivisions (taxing entities), except the county levy, which must be set and certified by September 20. 



November/December:  

Tax bills are prepared and sent to taxpayers by the county collector. 



December 31:  

Taxpayers have until December 31 to pay current taxes, after this date they become delinquent and late fees accrue.

house.jpg

Enjoy the convenience of filing you personal property assessment online!

Print a blank personal property assessment list

list.png
GIS.webp

The Assessor's GIS data is now available to the public online!

$50 a month or $500 a year. Stop by or call for more information.